Personal thoughts

10 Years

 

Do you remember being ten years old and looking ahead to twenty?  Back then it seemed like an eternity.  Graduating high school and going to college was such a distant thought that it didn’t even seem real.

You play with your friends and you spend time with family. The day to day routine of childhood makes you live for the moment, not thinking about the future. Something was happening between these ages, even if you were unaware of it. You were becoming an adult, and these were the years that set the foundation of your life.

Today is my daughter’s birthday, she turned ten. Yesterday she was 5, and the day before that she was being born.  This is an obvious exaggeration of how fast time moves, but not of how fast that time feels. I am going to wake up, one day soon, and watch her walk, with a mortar-board on her head, down the graduation aisle to the tune of “Pomp and Circumstance.”

The first ten years are over. All the ground work for her personality has been laid. The flowers and fruits of her mind have blossomed and she now has her own way of looking at things. I can not pin point when she stopped being a kid and became a young woman but it happened.

I remember ten. I remember the way I looked at the world.  I essentially look at the world the same way now as I did then, only with a little more knowledge and experience to temper my expectations.

I worry that I am not doing the best job teaching her the things that she will need to know to be a good person.

I hope she figures things out quicker than I did when I was growing up. I have high hopes for her. She is so smart and has a such a kind heart, but she’s not a pushover.  The sky’s the limit for this kid if she will only seize her potential.

My wife told me my daughter was upset that I had to work today. Disappointing my kids breaks my heart. It is the last thing that I want to do in this life. I am writing this on my lunch because knowing that I am not there in person has made my mind be there.

I wonder if she will read my blog once she gets older.  I hope she does. If she does I also hope she understands that the last thing I wanted to do while she was growing up was leave for work as much as I did.  I try to make as much time for my kids as I can. It probably isn’t enough.

I love that I get to introduce her to different books, movies, and music. The stories that were important to me when I was young. She asks me questions about how the world works and we learn together. I play pranks on her and we will watch science documentaries and funny vines together.

I haven’t seen her as much this summer because she has been gone a lot: camp, sleepovers, swimming parties and etc. I have a feeling that the amount of time she is absent will only be greater the older she gets. Makes me sad but she is growing.

She is going to do great in life.

 

2 thoughts on “10 Years

Leave a Reply

